Home Forums Explore Subjects Miniature Art What is your set-up like?

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Nova pictorem

Am just starting out, and was wondering how some of you manage to have/secure/turn your work in front of you.

In particular, Sue Burton’s book ‘Painting Miniatures’ she describes the way that Henry Saxon had his painting mounted upon a turntable w a ruler the you could adjust across the surface, to support the hand, enable straighter lines, etc.

Would you all mind posting pictures of the set-ups you all have devised to save time, muscular strain, etc?

I’m a woodworker (in the past), so would be able to duplicate majority of equipment if details would be available, or just a picture

Thanks in advance, David

I use my drafting table. I’ve had it for over thirty years and it’s what I’m used to. I could use a hand support, I’ve been using one of those long rice filled thingies that you heat up in the microwave for sore necks and such.

I’ve never though of using a turntable but I do have an old lazy Susan that I could take apart now that you have me thinking.

The Purple Dog Painting Blog
        Find me on Instagram
        Find me on Facebook

PaintBoss

I don’t use anything for straight lines, except a clear ruler. No supports. Nothing turntable (interesting thought). I have an adjustable drafting table, but it is huge. I use a smaller desk for miniatures, smaller works. But I rarely work flat except if I am doing a big wash. Working flat will affect your perspective otherwise. Instead I use a smaller homemade drawing board that is basic and sturdy. My father in law made it in highschool for drafting class. I discovered it in his basement and cleaned it up. The angle is lovely for working at. It means I can do work in a smaller space. I love it.