Home Forums The Think Tank Creativity Working from life vs from photos.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    3igAnt

Hello,

I am an evolving artist. There is still a long path for me to go and lots of things to learn about painting.

I know that, for example painting a portrait from life and from a reference photo are different things but, in 2017 where taking a photo is so easy, is it a must to create paintings only by working from life, having the model sit still for hours in multiple seasons in the same pose and one must for sure avoid working from a reference photo? I do not really understand the differenece between working from life vs ref photo. I sometimes see artists are so proud that they did a painting from life, and I do not know why where photos are available.

I would want to paint a portrait of someone who was passed away and the thing I can refer to is photos in this case. So will that painting be less worthy than a painting that was painted from life? Or maybe I cannot go to paris but want to paint a view from Paris. Same case, I can only refer to photos. Or maybe my friends hessitste to sit for hours and in that case I will also take photos fot painting. What are your thoughts?

And do you think that, an expereinced artist would distinguish between a painting that was painted from life and one that was painted by refering a photo?If so how? Because an artist I met told me that he can understand but he did not tell how exactly he can. Do you think that it is possible?

What are your thoughts about working from imagination? Is it an upper level? For nature, still life and portrait paintings? Do you think that an experienced artist can paint all those concepts from imagination with no ubsurd shapes?

All the best )

OK

It’s always good to work from life when you can so you learn to extract the essence of the model, working from a photo you tend to paint the intricate detail.