Home Forums The Town Center Welcome Forum! Getting a Blue Summer Cloudless Sky using Gouache

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Hi everyone,

I’ve just joined. I started painting last year. I recently had trouble getting the right shades of blue for a summer sky, having used ultramarine which was way too violet, and got some advice from this forum, so thought I’d join. Although it was oils and watercolour advice, it was still very helpful. I usually paint with winsor newton gouache.
    For the summer sky I used…
    Along the horizon I painted permanent white with a bit of primary yellow out to permanent white (as it’s a sea of dandelions). Then phthalo blue mixed with permanent white above the horizon and then for the middle area I used sky blue out to the edges with intense blue. It worked really well. I mixed the blues with a bit of permanent white to tone down and I’m pleased with the outcome. I’ve just got to put the sun through a dandelion clock… errr!

I’m in the process of doing six, in a wild flower series. I had a disaster with paper quality on my last gouache painting; blue bells. I’ve done poppies, moon daisies, which sold straightaway, the dandelion might be sold, as I have an interested party, but it’s not finished. Unfortunately, I spent 4 hours drawing blue bells, and then when I added the paint, it rippled up like a stormy sea, so the whole thing went in the bin today. I went straight out and bought Bockingford medium weight paper which I’ve masked with a neutral coloured tape. That was another blunder using coloured tape as it messes with your overall colour choices. So, hopefully this will go a bit smoother. I’m hoping the bluebells will be the best of the bunch. Although now, it really is, back to the drawing board.