Home Forums Explore Media Acrylics How to mix acrylic paint so you can dripslatter it?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    davey72

Hi everyone!

I’m new to art and have a question. I’m trying to create some Jackson Pollock style paintings but can’t get the paint to the right consistency. I’ve tried mixing the acrylic paint with water and also flow aid but it still doesn’t have a nice flow. When I try to drizzle it on the canvas it just plops off in droplets rather than creating smooth lines. Do I need to use a different kind of paint or is there a way to get the right consistency with acrylic. Thanks for all your help!

DaveMak

Don’t know if this will help with your Pollock technique, but when you thin acrylics you should use a thinner consisting of 50% water (preferably distilled) and 50% acrylic medium.

Using just water will tend to cause the paint to separate as there is not enough binder to hold the polymer together.

Brian Firth

You need to experiment with Golden’s Clear Tar Gel or Liquitex’s Pouring Medium. These two mediums work the best to for pouring and dripping acrylics.

"Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence."
                -- Carl Sagan

Brian Firth

Theo Art

You may want to try inexpensive acrylic that is used for crafts.
                    The consistency is liquid compared to artist acrylic that are more of a gel or paste. Here is a link to one brand there are many other brands to choice from.
                    http://www.decoart.com/cgi-bin/Products.cgi?Americana_Acrylics

www.originalabstractart.net

All you touch and all you see, is all your life will ever be.
                    Roger Waters

seventex

Just an interesting FYI, since you mention Jackson Pollock, Golden created the paints used in the 2002 movie starring Ed Harris. Ed Harris, while a tremendous actor who throws himself completely into the roles he plays, did not want to work with toxic chemicals for the filming.