Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    0paque

About two months ago I started on a mixed media piece I used acrylics in combination with encaustics. Well later I read that this shouldn’t be done due to the fact that acrylics are water based and wax isn’t:(. So far the painting is looking good though and I was wondering how long it would take for me to tell if they were going to mix poorly. Like I said that was about two months ago and the painting is still looking nice.

Oops first thread and I already messed up This is supposed to be in mixed media, sorry.

Cyndi L

So, did you apply the encaustics over top of the acrylics or the other way around? Or did you just sort of mix them together somehow? The general rule is that you can apply oil over water, but not water over oil, so the biggest problem will be if you painted with your acrylics over top of the wax…it may end up peeling off at some point. I’m not an expert on this by any means, so maybe one of our encaustic enthusiasts can give you some better advice!

Printmakerguy

The acrylic and encaustic won’t mix- Now, you MAY be able to use them together- Encaustic will probably stick to the acrylic, though I don’t know how well. I wouldn’t try putting acrylic on the encaustic, though the other way around might work. The bond between the two will never be that strong, I don’t think I’d trust it!

[FONT="Arial"]

I always welcome critiques and criticisms of my work! That's the only way to improve!
                My My Web Page - My Miniature Work-http://www.lessthansix.com[/center]
                -Member of the Association Of Miniature Artists-

* AMA * MASF * HS * ARMS *

0paque

I put the acrylics over the encaustic mostly. I didn’t apply the acrylics very heavy though mostly just glazes, a lot of gel medium. Could I possibly use some sort of thick varnish to keep the acrylics from coming off?

Encaustic