WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > The Learning Center > Composition and Design
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors

#1   Report Bad Post  
Old 07-05-2017, 09:40 AM

Hails from United States
Waterfall composition

Hi, this is my first time in this forum, and I'm hoping to get some inside into something that has been bothering me.
I've been told I have a good sense of composition, but I painted this waterfall a few years ago (the vertical one), and after being in a show, and hanging in my house for a while, I'm bothered by the composition. It seems like the waterfall is taking the eye out of the painting..... exiting stage right so to speak.
Now I just completed this painting, and the same thing is bothering me. It's hard to photograph a waterfall straight on without getting wet, and this composition seems fine in the photograph, but it bothers me after I paint it.
Is it a bad composition? Should I stop painting waterfalls as seen from the side, or is there something I could do to help the composition? The obvious thing to me is to have the waterfall further to the right, so that 1, the white foam would not go right to the edge, and 2, in the case of the horizontal one, I had hoped the large rocks in the foreground would have balanced it out.