Home Forums Explore Media Casein, Gouache, and Egg Tempera Sta-Wet palette and gouache- effective?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    tsarasua

Hello WC,
        Long time lurker here, I love this website and really appreciate the information shared on here. I am new to gouache and have heard both sides to storing it- keeping it in tubes and using it fresh and allowing it to dry out and reactivating it with water when you want to use it.

Has anyone use a sta-wet palette with gouache? any mold problems? I just treated myself to a small set of gouache and would love to start using it-

I am not sure if I am posting in the right spot, please feel free to move this if so-
        thank you again!:)
        -T

I only painted with gouache briefly and will be interested to see the answer of others. I have 2 stay wet palettes from painting with acrylics. I found they made the paint too wet. I think you might lose the creamy texture that is so nice about gouache.

Gurney has several blog posts with videos about using gouache.

http://gurneyjourney.blogspot.com/search/label/Gouache

I believe that he keeps them moist for a limited time on a wet paper towel.

I use a wet paper towel in my stay wet palette to paint with caseins. I do not try to keep them active over a long time. They can not be re-wet.

Maybe someone else has had a better experience.

"Painting is a verb"

I think it may be OK for a short time, if you paint regularly. I have lost so much gouache by drying up that I either use freshly squeezed paint or my Caran d’Ache gouache pan set which re-wet very easily.

Doug

We must leave our mark on this world

Monastic Bat