WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > Explore Media > Printmaking
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors

#1   Report Bad Post  
Old 05-29-2017, 08:12 AM

Talking Printmaking Newbie

I'm a painter and I could give lots of advice regarding brands, mediums and surafces but I would like to try linocut printmaking and I have no idea where to start. Could anyone point me in the right direction? I have access to Fabriano papers and some Canson. Are there items or brands I should be interested in or avoid?

#2   Report Bad Post  
Old 05-31-2017, 11:25 AM

Re: Printmaking Newbie

for Relief printmaking I think choice of paper is pretty much wide open. Usually printmaking papers have less sizing I think than say watercolor papers, but for Relief you can use pretty much anything.

I'm partial to Rives BFK because it has a great feel and works great for both relief and intaglio processes. I also like Akua inks which are pretty easy to deal with and clean up, but again for relief you have a lot of choices.
  #3   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-02-2017, 01:30 AM
Veteran Member

You might want to try some other surfaces besides linoleum to see what you like the best.

Gomuban is very nice to work with but is not available in large sizes.