Home Forums Explore Media Oil Painting Oil Brushes

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Reaperc89

So I have been painting for a couple of months now, and I recently solved the battle of finding the paint that I like best, but I can’t seem to come to a conclusion on brushes. I bought some very cheap student grade brushes to begin with, and they worked fine to get me through an oil painting class I am finishing up, but after painting for a little bit I began to see the shortcomings of these brushes.

There are so many different types of brush fiber out there, that I honestly am a bit overwhelmed by it. I don’t have the money to buy a dozen different kinds of brushes to find the ones I like best, so I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction. I was initially looking at W&N Artists’ Oil brushes with the Chungking hog bristles, but the reviews on blick left me a tad skeptical that they were anything other than a mediocre brush. I also had noticed Utrecht offers a line of artists brushes in chungking hog bristles, as well as a synthetic sable brush line. These have almost no user feedback on them though, and it would be taking a potentially costly plunge into unknown waters.

Freesail

Surprised you’re not taking about the shape or type of brush to use…. Hog bristle are very common and used by many, including me. You may find that a good brush handles paint very differently and you may want to even re-think the idea that you found your paint already at this point….

Solvent = Leaner Oil = Fatter Drawing is the basis of art. A bad painter cannot draw. But one who draws well can always paint. (Arshile Gorky)
            J.G.

My favorite brushes for quality and price are Trekell. They have a variety of hair types and shapes that you can try and they are well priced. I have used high end natural hair brushes that cost $50 each, and low end 99¢. I use these almost exclusively now.

2hype