WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > Explore Media > Watercolor > Palette Talk
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors

#1   Report Bad Post  
Old 05-13-2019, 03:35 PM

Paint Granulation

Hello everyone!

I have an elementary question. I am a beginner and need to invest in some paints. I will get professional paint, but wondering about granulated vs non. Fortunately, I can invest in a great palette but what I have seen is that beginners generally don't like granulated paint bc it is more difficult to use.

Is it better to start with them even though they are more difficult or start with an easier paint and "graduate" to a paint that is more harder to work with?

Thank you in advance for your replies.

Basia
  #2   Report Bad Post  
Old 05-13-2019, 05:02 PM
A Local Legend
Boerne, TX USA

Hails from United States
Re: Paint Granulation

Well...there are a lot of experiences and ideas about paints and their handling characteristics, i.e., transparent, opaque, staining and granulating.

I tend to recommend to my early painting students that they initially buy single pigment, artist-grade transparent paints, and learn to mix and apply these before stepping up to some of the other handling characteristics.

Why?