WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > Explore Media > Pastels > Soft Pastel Talk
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors

#1   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-09-2018, 04:13 PM
NY

Hails from United States
Paper suggestions for my style

Hey guys I am a beginner to pastels and there are so any paper types that I need suggestions from those who have tried many types. What I need is a paper that holds many many layers, works great with medium to hard pastels using sticks (for blending larger areas- ie under painting on ears of cats, or birds chest etc) and mainly Pencils ( mine are Dewent). I am looking for more pencils as I only have a 12 piece set and mostly plan to do animals, etc. So any suggestions on that too I would appreciate it. I would like to try seascapes of these days so soft stick pastels will become part of my arsenol. ( I don't even own any soft pastels at this point) I am not heavy handed I barely touch the surface even when drawing with graphite. I am realism style and detailed. So in closing, what papers styles do you think would suit me to try first ? thanks
  #2   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-10-2018, 04:56 AM

Re: Paper suggestions for my style

Dakota offers a sampler of many brands of paper. It may be worth checking out.