WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > The Art Business Center > General Art Business
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors

#1   Report Bad Post  
Old 12-27-2017, 12:48 PM

Smile The Blockchain Art Market Could Help Artists Get Paid

Hi all, I am a painter but I also do research on technology and the art market. My latest post is on how a technology called blockchain is changing the art market. It is the same technology used in bitcoin but people are applying it to art as well. It is a bit confusing but I am bullish on the potential for it to cut out the middleman and make it easier for artists to get paid. Hope the article helps to break it down a little. As always, feedback welcome and appreciated!

https://www.artnome.com/news/2017/12...market-is-here

-Jason!
  #2   Report Bad Post  
Old 12-27-2017, 06:06 PM

Re: The Blockchain Art Market Could Help Artists Get Paid

From what I read and understood - I think this is valuable, but many things left unaccounted.

1. If you buy a piece of artwork - say a 1 percent share for $1,000. That puts a $100,000. valuation for the painting. Now the owner of the painting sells it for $50,000. You just lost $500.