WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > Explore Media > Acrylics
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors

#1   Report Bad Post  
Old 12-07-2017, 02:50 PM
Enthusiast
East Coast - New Brunswick, Canada

Hails from Canada
Gesso?

Hello,

I am new to acrylics. Wondering if everyone does a treatment of gesso on canvas prior to beginning, or is this necessary at all? Thanks!

http://dorisdaigle.ca
http://doricewatercolours.blogspot.com
  #2   Report Bad Post  
Old 12-07-2017, 03:00 PM
Lord of the Arts
Asheville NC

Hails from United States
Re: Gesso?

You may not paint on raw canvas with no gesso, unless you want your work to rot away as the years go by. You could seal it with something transparent, but you must seal it somehow. GOLDEN has this to say about sizing, which is done even before gessoing:
Quote:
Controlling SID in Acrylic Paints

Support Induced Discoloration (SID) is a phenomenon that occurs in acrylic paints and mediums. Many common artist supports have impurities that can discolor a translucent acrylic gel layer or color glaze, and a size must be applied before gessoing to ensure the products stay clear as the films dry.