WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > Explore Subjects > Animal and Wildlife Subjects
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors

#1   Report Bad Post  
Old 11-08-2017, 05:46 PM
Veteran Member

My First Watercolor

I started playing around with watercolors about a month ago. I was working with pastels, but I started having such problems with the dust, I needed to find an alternative. There are quite a few watercolor artists on here that really inspire me!

Have a question, I am having a hard time getting straight lines (like around the eyes, mouth) - the paint always seems to clump in spots and, for me, almost impossible to get a smooth finish. If I add too much water, I can't seem to get it dark enough, too little water - clumping. For this painting, I actually used a toothpick

C&C would be most welcome
Attached Images

#2   Report Bad Post  
Old 11-08-2017, 11:24 PM
Standerton

Hails from South Africa
Re: My First Watercolor

Lovely CaliAnn. It sounds as if you need to dry brush more for those details. Use a very fine brush and use your wc with just enough water to make it fluid.
  #3   Report Bad Post  
Old 11-09-2017, 02:59 AM
Germany

Hails from Germany