WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > The Art Business Center > General Art Business
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors

#1   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-30-2017, 01:58 PM

Sketchbook found in storage building... what do with it?

Hello Artists....

I'm not an artist but my daughter is. My reason for writing is that I recently found a sketchbook/scrapbook in my father-in-laws storage building. The building hasn't been touched in 25 years and I helped clean it out. What I found was an "antiques roadshow" quality collection of 40+ drawings and prints by from the 1920's through 1946. The work is amazing. By the way, the artist is not associated with our family. I have taken steps to research the artist with little results. Chances are that the artist is no longer living.

I've already shared some images with friends and they are ready to purchase reproductions for their personal enjoyment.

My questions...

Who owns the rights to this collection?

Can I keep frames copies or originals for my personal use?

Should I restore the works and have them appraised?

Do I have the right to sell the originals and reproductions

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Webminister
  #2   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-30-2017, 07:24 PM
Enthusiast