WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > Explore Media > Pastels > Soft Pastel Talk
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors

#1   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-27-2017, 08:29 PM
Chicago, IL

Hails from United States
Pastel dust ruining my paintings

Hello, I'm relatively new to pastels, and am running into issues with pastel dust. When I start at the top, the dust drips down and sticks to the rest of the paper, finally landing on the easel, but with a trail of dust all the way down. When I'm done, there is so much dust on the paper all over the place it looks 'dirty'. I'm using Colorfix paper, and combination of soft and hard pastels. Looking for advice on how to deal with the dust.
  #2   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-27-2017, 10:45 PM
A Local Legend
southeast Wyoming

Hails from United States
Re: Pastel dust ruining my paintings

I consider myself a fairly "heavy handed" pastel painter. Meaning I push hard often as I apply pastel. I also use soft touch as well. Anyway, I do make fair amount of dust. But I dont have problem with dust contaminating painting to the point of making mud or dirty look. So..

Try and paint with the painting completely vertical. Some people even have painting surface tilted forward slightly so dust falls and doesnt touch painting surface.