WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > Explore Media > Casein, Gouache, and Egg Tempera
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors

#1   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-25-2017, 04:19 AM

Used gouache to fix oil painting, now cracking?

Dear WetCanvas users.

I am a complete newbie when it comes to painting, thus seeking the advice of some of you experienced WC users.

The thing is, I recently relocated overseas and had to re-frame a painting of mine afterwards. Unfortunately this led to some peeling of the paint, sort of resembling white drops/flecks all over the painting. I then set out to repair the damage and bought some gouache painting to use, which turned out quite well.

BUT, I have now encountered two problems of which the second is the worst:

1. When looking at the painting from an angle, the repairs look like matte blurs that seem darker in color. When looking at the picture from the front, the repairs aren't noticeable at all (unless standing right up close to it).