WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > Explore Media > Pen and Ink > Calligraphy
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors

#1   Report Bad Post  
Old 08-26-2017, 11:33 PM

What Items to Purchase

Hello! I am fairly new to the ink world and became interested in using it for outlining my drawings and watercolor paintings, but I am having a tough time figuring out where to start. Can anyone recommend a good calligraphy set for beginners? Tips on what to avoid?

Last edited by Traditional : 08-26-2017 at 11:37 PM.
  #2   Report Bad Post  
Old 09-02-2017, 05:22 PM
Toronto

Hails from Canada
Re: What Items to Purchase

It depends on the kind of Calligraphy you want to do.

I would expect you want to draw fine lines for outlining your drawings. A pointed pen (nib) would work well for that. Try the Zebra, Nikko or Tachikawa G nibs. These are fairly stiff in terms of flex and very easy to use. More flexible nibs like the Hunt 101 or 22 are finer and produce wider swells useful for Copperplate or Ornamental Penmanship but require a very light touch.

You will need a holder for the nibs. Straight holder are usually $2-$3 a piece. Nibs are also in the same price range but get a few as they do wear out and are considered consumables.