WetCanvas
Home Member Services Content Areas Tools Info Center WC Partners Shop Help
Channels:
Search for:
in:

Welcome to the WetCanvas forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please visit our help center.

Go Back   WetCanvas > The Learning Center > Computers and Technology for Artists
User Name
Password
Register Mark Forums Read

Salute to our Partners
WC! Sponsors

Our Sponsors
Closed Thread  
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   Report Bad Post  
Old 04-24-2012, 12:20 PM
WFMartin's Avatar
WFMartin WFMartin is offline
A Local Legend
Glendale, Arizona
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7,986
 
Hails from United States
Any Logical Reason?

Just got Photoshop Essentials 10. Is there any logical reason, whatsoever, that would have inspired the developers of this new version to have eliminated two of the most important functions that I used every day on the older version (8.0)?

These are the individual, RGB color curves function, and the selective color function (the ability to modify C, M, Y, or Bk, in any of the following colors: C, M, Y, R, G, B, White, Neutral, Black.)

There doesn't seem to be any viable replacement or substitution for these two, profoundly important, major functions.

Just wondered if anyone else has felt this great loss, and disappointment as I have, at the elimination of these two tools.
__________________
wfmartin. My Blog "Creative Realism"...www.williamfmartin.blogspot.com
  #2   Report Bad Post  
Old 04-28-2012, 07:54 PM
Oldthumbs's Avatar
Oldthumbs Oldthumbs is offline
Moderator
State of Suspense
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,397
 
Hails from United States
Re: Any Logical Reason?

Sorry, Bill, no answer for you, but a question; does V.10 have new features that outweigh the availability of the curves and color functions you miss from V.8? If not, why not just go back to V.8?

Ray

Edited to add: I just looked around on the web and found this reference to curves in V.10. I assume this is not what you are looking for?
__________________
“The tragedy of life is not that it ends so soon, but that we wait so long to begin it.”- W. M. Lewis
“It takes a lot of courage to release the familiar and seemingly secure, to embrace the new. But there is no real security in what is no longer meaningful. There is more security in the adventurous and exciting, for in movement there is life, and in change there is power.”- Alan Cohen

Last edited by Oldthumbs : 04-28-2012 at 08:10 PM.
  #3   Report Bad Post  
Old 04-29-2012, 01:26 AM
WFMartin's Avatar
WFMartin WFMartin is offline
A Local Legend
Glendale, Arizona
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7,986
 
Hails from United States
Re: Any Logical Reason?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldthumbs
Sorry, Bill, no answer for you, but a question; does V.10 have new features that outweigh the availability of the curves and color functions you miss from V.8? If not, why not just go back to V.8?

Ray

Edited to add: I just looked around on the web and found this reference to curves in V.10. I assume this is not what you are looking for?


I can't go back to V8 because my new, updated computer won't support it, or so my son says.

That SHOULD be the curve function that should do the trick, however I could not find any way to make it adjust individual color curves. Everything I tried merely adjusted the entire 3 curves simultaneously. I'll give it a try again.

Judging by that link that SHOULD be the way to do it, if I could only find out how to make it happen to individual curves, as it claims to do.
__________________
wfmartin. My Blog "Creative Realism"...www.williamfmartin.blogspot.com
  #4   Report Bad Post  
Old 04-29-2012, 09:58 AM
Oldthumbs's Avatar
Oldthumbs Oldthumbs is offline
Moderator
State of Suspense
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,397
 
Hails from United States
Re: Any Logical Reason?

Sorry I couldn't be of more help. I hope you can figure out how to do what you want with it. I'm afraid I tend to keep running old stuff until it doesn't run any more, so I have no problem using older programs.

Ray
__________________
“The tragedy of life is not that it ends so soon, but that we wait so long to begin it.”- W. M. Lewis
“It takes a lot of courage to release the familiar and seemingly secure, to embrace the new. But there is no real security in what is no longer meaningful. There is more security in the adventurous and exciting, for in movement there is life, and in change there is power.”- Alan Cohen
  #5   Report Bad Post  
Old 05-25-2012, 06:46 PM
WFMartin's Avatar
WFMartin WFMartin is offline
A Local Legend
Glendale, Arizona
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7,986
 
Hails from United States
Re: Any Logical Reason?

Well, I just found out the reason from a friend with whom I used to work. It seems that Photoshop 10 Essentials is a "dumbed-down" version of professional, Photoshop 10, and it quite literally doesn't have the "curves" function, as well (I just found out) as not having any "sharpen" features.

It seems I will need to get Photoshop 10 (without the "Essentials"), in order to be able to do my usual work.
__________________
wfmartin. My Blog "Creative Realism"...www.williamfmartin.blogspot.com
  #6   Report Bad Post  
Old 05-31-2012, 10:27 PM
WFMartin's Avatar
WFMartin WFMartin is offline
A Local Legend
Glendale, Arizona
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7,986
 
Hails from United States
Re: Any Logical Reason?

Well, that was definitely the reason. I got a different version of Photoshop, and all my problems have been solved. I got back my "curves", I got back my "selective color", and I got back my "sharpen" features (which I didn't even know I was lacking).

Photoshop Elements (it is "Elements", and not "Essentials", as I originally posted) is most definitely a "dumbed-down" version of Photoshop, and not very appropriate for anyone with a working knowledge of color and value. However, "Elements" did have a couple of features that worked rather well, in an "automatic" sense.
__________________
wfmartin. My Blog "Creative Realism"...www.williamfmartin.blogspot.com

Last edited by WFMartin : 05-31-2012 at 10:47 PM.
  #7   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-02-2012, 01:31 AM
Rick G's Avatar
Rick G Rick G is offline
Veteran Member
Oregon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 752
 
Hails from United States
Re: Any Logical Reason?

You're right that PSE has a reduced set of tools from the full version of Photoshop. There's a reason that they charge so much more for the full version. The selective color function is designed for working in the CMYK mode, which isn't supported in PSE. Curves is available in a somewhat limited manner, as described in the link below:

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/photosho...9f5b-7fe4.html

Sharpening is also available:

http://www.dummies.com/how-to/conten...toshop-el.html
__________________
http://www.givensstudios.com
  #8   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-03-2012, 12:58 AM
WFMartin's Avatar
WFMartin WFMartin is offline
A Local Legend
Glendale, Arizona
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7,986
 
Hails from United States
Re: Any Logical Reason?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick G
You're right that PSE has a reduced set of tools from the full version of Photoshop. There's a reason that they charge so much more for the full version. The selective color function is designed for working in the CMYK mode, which isn't supported in PSE. Curves is available in a somewhat limited manner, as described in the link below:

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/photosho...9f5b-7fe4.html

Sharpening is also available:

http://www.dummies.com/how-to/conten...toshop-el.html

I found that "curves" function, but I couldn't find any way do adjust each color curve separately.

But, nevermind. It's all academic now. I've got my new Photoshop, with "normal" functions.
__________________
wfmartin. My Blog "Creative Realism"...www.williamfmartin.blogspot.com
  #9   Report Bad Post  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:15 AM
darkwolf29's Avatar
darkwolf29 darkwolf29 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 247
 
Re: Any Logical Reason?

Yeah, unfortunately, Adobe has done that with several pieces. What they really want you to do is buy in to their update service. It gets you, supposedly, more apps. But, if you only use one or two...it's a useless expense. Personally, I bought the whole bundle before I graduated in April. So, I do not need to upgrade for awhile. And then...I'll have to consider the commercial versions since they are so expensive.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:37 AM.


© 2014 F+W All rights reserved.