WetCanvas

WetCanvas (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/index.php)
-   Open Critique Forum (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Backyard Red (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1179092)

Neverstsfyd 07-08-2012 01:59 PM

Backyard Red

MY IMAGE(S):

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Backyard Red
Year Created:
Medium: Colored Pencil
Surface: Paper
Dimension: 9
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
Comment upon everything you want. I'm a new artist trying to improve.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I'm having trouble with the vibrant red I want and the darker reds in contrast differentiating the petals. I know the leaves need work but you can comment upon anything I need to do.

Debzy 07-08-2012 03:36 PM

Re: Backyard Red

You have made a very good start and I credit those who have such patience to use coloured pencils. You rose shapes are delightful and the brickwork could almost be a photo! Well done! In my opinion, your roses are fine, but could use some darker reds. You may need to find a different dark colour (maybe it's the photo but there seems to be a purple clash) to show shadows and separate petals and individual flowers, and some highlights to bring them out of the drawing more. Some shadow on the wall behind or under the roses to explain your light source direction would also help make an impact. Your vibrant red is quite spectacular! Lovely start and welcome to WC. Cheers and best wishes Debs. =))

Andrewcody 07-08-2012 10:12 PM

I agree with Deb
It looks like you have used canson paper?
Not the best for coloured pencil unless you turn it over and use the smoother side.
Roses can be quite difficult to draw, but as with most things observation helps a great deal - draw what you actually see.

Regards
Andrew

Neverstsfyd 07-08-2012 11:12 PM