PDA

View Full Version : Getting to grips with Liquitex paint

thecatpainter
01-20-2012, 05:51 PM
Hi all, I haven't posted much on here before, but have come across a problem and hoped some experienced wet canvas users could help! I've been painting with acrylics for about 6 months now, usually I use the 'Reeves' brand of paints, with a few tubes of Winsor and Newton Galeria paint. I live away for a few months of the year, and brought a 'Liquitex Basic' acrylic paint set. I am having real trouble painting with it (just typing it sounds ridiculous I know, how can the brand of paint be making such a difference! I know it sounds like a bad workman blaming his tools too!) I find that some of the colours comes out a bit thick and pasty (if that makes sense), and the colours that do come out a bit runnier seems to have no impact when I apply them to the canvas. The best way I can describe it is a bit 'sticky'. Can anybody advise me what the difference is between these acrylic paints, and the ones I am used to? Has anybody else had this experience? Any advice would be great. Thanks

idylbrush
01-20-2012, 08:48 PM
I think you will find each maker of paint has certain qualities that vary greatly. If it feels sticky, you may want to consider adding a touch of flow enhancer.

There are certain brands that I don't use simply because they feel gummy, sticky, or coarse... others like that feel. There are brands that just don't feel right. Try to work around it by not buying that brand again. I do find that I might like certain colors in a line but not others. Very individual.

*dee*
01-20-2012, 10:18 PM
I love Liquitex....though I usually go with the heavy body. (Preferring the heavy body IS somewhat irrational though, because I then thin it with a medium or water...or both. :o) The Basics line is okay, but there is something about the 'feel' of them I'm not crazy about.