PDA

View Full Version : newbie asking....sticks or pans?

lisaastrup
01-19-2012, 06:08 PM
hi.

I'm a totally newbie, have only a very small box of Rowney hard pastels, but
consider to buy new ones, so here goes....

What to buy, sticks or pans, what is the best to start with and how many
colors do I need ???

I like to paint flowers, landscabes and animals.

Colorix
01-19-2012, 06:27 PM
hello Lisa,

Oh, it depends on how you want to paint, not what. I think of the Panpastels as "dry watercolour", and you paint with sponges and tools that hold tiny sponges. Their 20 sets are great to start with, I've got the Colour set, and I could paint most things with it. (Ok, it *is* limited, but the selection of colours is great, and they're so easy to blend.)

Seems like most pastellists combine pans and sticks, but some paint only with pans.

Sticks are very versatile, and if you're Ok with getting your hands dirty and dry, then I'd recommend about 50 sticks (even if you can get by with some 20 or 30). Choose a softer brand than what you have, and you'll get more versatility. The pastel sticks seems to be by far the more popular choice among people on this forum.

It is hard to give advice, as it depends so much on what you prefer. The best is to test them and see what you like best. If you can do it in the shop, so much better!

JPQ
01-19-2012, 08:49 PM
I also think 50 is minium and even more when you subject list is so wide becouse you need many things. ps. i think to me good palette size is maybe 100 colours but to start bare minium is 50 when you subject list have all of these subjects.if only two numer can drop little. ps. i test soon i can also pan pastels.

allydoodle
01-19-2012, 11:51 PM