PDA

View Full Version : Turn of the Tides

Alex Wisniewski
01-01-2012, 05:38 AM
Hi all,
yes ... I'm a newbie, but this looks like a good site to connect with like-minded people. So I'm going to try my first image post and keep my fingers crossed that it works. This is a painting I did in 2005 called 'Turn of the Tides'. It's acrylic and collage (sand and shells) on canvas, 270cm x 150cm (8'10" x 4'11")

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/01-Jan-2012/984152-2005-01-Turn-of-the-tides.jpg
I live near the coast and love the ocean, my main inspiration. I've been painting professionally for 30 years and still haven't satisfied my inner critic ... some things never change. I'm looking forward to interacting and contributing to this community. When I sort all this new stuff out I'll post some of my source imagery (photos) and other stuff.

Oh ... and happy new year !!

bertschikon
01-01-2012, 06:29 AM
This looks pretty good to me Alex. It is impressive on my computer screen so it must be really something when seen in its full size. I look forward to seeing more of your work.

idylbrush
01-01-2012, 06:44 AM
Welcome to the Acrylics Forum at Wet Canvas. Glad to have you here.

IMHO, very nice work. Well executed.

chammi kaiser
01-01-2012, 07:58 AM
A warm welcome from me too, Alex. This is a beautiful, harmonious work and I am really looking forward to more of your paintings.

Alex Wisniewski
01-01-2012, 08:25 AM
Well that seemed to work ok. Thanks for the warm welcome. Here's a few more images of past work done at various times. I almost always paint on stretched canvas and have a few standard sizes to make life simpler for me and my framer.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/01-Jan-2012/984152-2006-04-Afterglow,-Lake-Bal.jpg
"Afterglow - Lake Ballard" I had an exhibition of work based on this desolate and arid location, that's me ... trying to find beauty in the most unlikely places.