PDA

View Full Version : A question on applying fixative spray

Michaelmcg
12-11-2011, 10:24 AM
I'm sure this is dealt with somewhere on this forum, but I can't find it, at least not easily. I'm primarily a landscape painter (oils), but dabble in figurative work too, most recently doing some life drawing studies in soft pastel. I've used a fixative spray for my first couple of drawings without any significant darkening, but the last time I did it, I totally runined the drawing. I think I may simply have applied too much. So my question is this - is there a particular way that such fixatives should be applied, i.e. several light coats rather than one quick heavy one?

Michael

DAK723
12-11-2011, 11:31 AM
So my question is this - is there a particular way that such fixatives should be applied, i.e. several light coats rather than one quick heavy one?

Michael
Yes, several light coats rather than one heavy one is the way I would recommend applying fixative. Make sure that you are not holding the can too close as well - I would say about 12 inches, at least, from the artwork. I use a long, sweeping side-to-side movement, going beyond the painting's edges.

Keep in mind that almost all fixatives are pretty nasty stuff and need proper ventilation ( I would never spray indoors, personally - and a respirator is not a bad idea, either.)

The one exception is the fairly new Spectrafix, which comes with a pump-spray and is non-toxic. Because of the pump spray, I do find that I need to spray it heavily to get an even coating - other wise I get little spots of fixative. This could just be me, however.

Because all fixatives do effect the pastel in some way, many folks who do use fixative won't apply any when the painting is finished - only during the early and middle stages. This way the upper layer of strokes will retain their freshness and "sparkle".

Don

sketchZ1ol
12-11-2011, 11:44 AM
hello
this will probably get bumped over to Talk forum , but anyway ,