PDA

View Full Version : first oil pastel

JoshR
03-18-2003, 09:24 PM
this is my first attempt at an oil pastel. I think it turned out well, and i've learned a lot so i know what i can do better next time. i've changed some things since i uploaded the picture, for example his face is a little closer to the same color as his hands and arms. anyway, any comments/critique welcome.

Mikki Petersen
03-18-2003, 09:41 PM
this is a great first attempt. I think it must look even better with the facial tones in keeping with the other parts of him. What brand are you using?

Luvy
03-18-2003, 09:45 PM
Can you show a little more guitar? Looking good so far. Can't wait to see it finished. Boy first huh? (throwing away my pastels)

rd2ruin
03-19-2003, 01:32 AM
Josh, no one could, or can, play guitar like our man Jimi here.

Great likeness and I like where you're going with all the colors here. You've had far more success with oil pastels than I have.

I agree with Luvy, the guitar needs a little more area there.

Check out http://loutreaux.chez.tiscali.fr/Jimi5.html for a similiar picture with a slightly different angle, so you can see the width of the guitar's body as compared to the neck. (sorry about beating the point, but us guitar-playing fanatics are never satisfied! :D )

Good to see that at least someone of the youngin' generation can still appreciate classical music! Now, if someone could pass a law barring Limp Bizkit and Dave Matthews from the airwaves I just might be able to listen to the radio again. :rolleyes:

Cheers!
- Greg

E-J
03-19-2003, 03:17 AM