PDA

View Full Version : Reconstituting acrylic paint

DennisF73
11-29-2011, 09:04 PM
I am new to Wet Canvas and new to painting -- just retired after 40 years in transportation and anxious to start. Began buying paint products the last two years and now see I have a problem with some acrylic paint that I purchased.
The paint is Liquitex super heavy body paint in jars. When I bought them, I opened each to make sure they were ok. Then I sealed them all back up. Now that I am ready to use them, many of the jars have paint that is very thick, almost like putty. Is there any way to reconstitute this paint. Hope someone can suggest something.

idylbrush
11-29-2011, 09:25 PM
You might consider mixing water into the paint, if you can. I would use distilled water. If it hasn't set up to much you might be able to resurrect them. If gone to far not much will help. Good luck.

DennisF73
11-29-2011, 10:31 PM
Tried water, but no luck. I was afraid that these jars were probably headed to the trash, but thought I would see if anyone had any miracles up their sleeves.

Sandybells
11-29-2011, 11:12 PM
Sounds like it is time to make up some paint skins to use on Collage paintings and abstracts. I would certainly try that before I would toss them out. Might make for an interesting use.
Just an idea! Sandy

Einion
11-30-2011, 04:46 AM
Hi Dennis, for future reference if you're adding water to jars of paint it's best to use distilled water because tap water may introduce contaminants that can make the paint go off.

There's a possibility the seal on the jars wasn't 100% and they've dried out a little during storage. But these Liquitex paints are chemically thickened to make them the viscosity they are, and over time this may lead to them sort of congealing.