PDA

View Full Version : Preference for tit. white

Patrick Eubanks
11-28-2011, 08:27 PM
what is everyone's preference for titan. white? I am a mixed media artist and have been using chroma brand white for years but some recent mix changes are leaving me suaturbed to say the least. I paint in really thin layers and am used to the layering process taking a while. The problem Im having is the white is losing its intensity over a short time.
Its like the white evaporates over time.
Help?

Alessandra Kelley
11-28-2011, 09:42 PM
I looked all over and could not find Chroma's pigment Colour Index Number, which would tell you exactly which pigments they use. By law, it should be on the packaging somewhere. If you find a "PW6" on the packaging, it means the pigment they are using is titanium white.

On the other hand, I don't know exactly what paints you're using. The Chroma acrylic paints I found on Dick Blick's website are student-grade acrylics, and the only white listed is a titanium white.

If those are the paints you are using, the problem is probably that they are student grade. Student grade acrylics are cheap and skimp on pigments (and are thus semi-transparent compared to artist-grade acrylics). I wouldn't recommend them for anybody, as they are difficult to use and don't much help you to learn how to paint with good acrylics.

I don't know of any acrylic paint that uses any white pigment but titanium white, except that Golden makes a specialty zinc white acrylic. It is extremely transparent, and uncommon.

So you are probably painting with titanium white already.

Also you are probably aware that acrylics dry darker and more transparent than they look, especially if you are painting thinly. If Chroma recently changed its formula to skimp even more on the pigment, it's no wonder you're having trouble.