PDA

View Full Version : Mural help!

Horse Party Time
11-18-2011, 06:28 PM
Hello all--newbie here hoping to get some advice/help.

I'm going to be doing an acrylic mural for a friend and had two questions:

1. The mural will be on a living room wall (interior). Should I gesso the area or paint directly on the wall (I think it's currently got some brand of semi-gloss).

2. What should I use to seal the finished product? I'm saying "seal" because I don't know what the official name would be. Brand names would be a plus. If I can get it through Dick Blick that would be a double plus.

Thanks!

Side note: anyone know how to put thumbnails of your work in the signature section of this forum?

idylbrush
11-18-2011, 08:05 PM
You may want to consider a gesso only if you think it required for longevity. If long term longevity is imperative, I would consider a faux wall of canvas. For long term consideration you might want to finish as you would any painting.

If none of the above is a requirement ,then I would consider house paint, in this case interior paint and a polyurethane might be of value.

Horse Party Time
11-19-2011, 12:24 AM
You may want to consider a gesso only if you think it required for longevity. If long term longevity is imperative, I would consider a faux wall of canvas. For long term consideration you might want to finish as you would any painting.

If none of the above is a requirement ,then I would consider house paint, in this case interior paint and a polyurethane might be of value.

I think longevity is somewhat of a concern. In terms of finishing it like I would any painting--I never put anything over my paintings because I don't know what to use (although I know that some people use stuff to cover/seal their work).

What is the finish called? Polyurethane?

idylbrush
11-19-2011, 07:08 AM