PDA

View Full Version : Chemical Reactions

modart
10-28-2011, 07:37 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Wet Canvas and love reading the forums and all the help you give each other and now I am needing your help. Not sure where I should put this post, so you may come across it in another area.

I mostly paint abstract paintings, using Golden fluid acrylics and recently saw a chemical reaction an artist was getting when he dropped paint onto a medium. I think the medium might be gesso, but it must have had something mixed with it , followed by watercolour of some sorts and then an expander which I think may be methylated spirits. But when I tried all this the gesso didn't work. I had thinned it down with water which could be part of the problem. So if you would like to take a look at artkitstore on youtube to see what i am trying to achieve and then get back to me, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks, Modart

idylbrush
10-29-2011, 12:34 AM
If you look here (http://artkitstore.com/) you may buy their "kit". Having not seen this before I am not sure if it is an acrylic technique or not. It certainly is interesting.

modart
10-29-2011, 04:15 AM
Thanks for your reply but buying the kit would be too expensive because I want to do large canvasses with a range of colours. I'll keep trying to work it out.

Modart

autolisp
10-30-2011, 06:40 AM
That is a very interesting video on YouTube.

Lady Carol
10-30-2011, 07:50 PM
It looks pretty simple to me. I suspect that it is thinned gesso with drops of colour that is allowed to diffuse and then ethanol dropped on to the colour to break the surface tension. You may have to play around with how much you dilute the colours and the gesso.

autolisp
10-31-2011, 07:53 PM