PDA

View Full Version : Airbrush question

huckaday
03-17-2003, 12:44 AM
Hi guys! :D I was just wondering if any of you may know where I can get some info on airbrushing? A friend of mine wants me to do his tank on his motorbike and is going to lend me a complete airbrush set to practice with, and I have NEVER used one before!!! I also am a bit afraid of painting on an object that isn't flat!!!! :eek:

So I am looking for a good site with some info on the subject. I am currently "googling" all over but although I am finding some great examples of wonderful art, I am not finding very much on the process that goes into airbrushing. (masking etc)

Thank you very much in advance,
Alana

myorca
03-17-2003, 07:07 AM
HI Alana,

You may want to look in a Barnes & Noble type bookstore for airbrush how-to books.

Starting out of the gate on a gas tank without ever having picked up an airbrush is going to be a HUGE challenge, and I wish you luck with it!!

Bob

huckaday
03-17-2003, 11:49 AM
Oh I know!!! TG he is giving it to me to play with for a while. I did go to amazon and order a book last night so hopefully that will help some!

I did use one before, but that was in high school over a decade ago!!(reveals a bit about my age!lol)

myorca
03-17-2003, 12:28 PM
LOL dont feel too bad, im over the 2 decade mark....did i just say that????????? LOL

I airbrushed for a few years back in the late 70's early 80's and had a blast with it. One day I will get another brush and go crazy again. It definitely takes dedication and a ton of practice. I am glad to hear that you have at least used one before albeit awhile back.

Will you be showing us how it goes as you go through the process?? I hope so!

Bob

Howard Metzenberg
03-17-2003, 05:50 PM
Here are a couple of books and videos we offer:

Big Book Of Airbrush
http://www.dickblick.com/zz709/03/

Getting Started in Airbrush
http://www.dickblick.com/zz709/04/

Badger Instructional Airbrush Techniques Video Series