PDA

View Full Version : Nanowrimo

robertsloan2
10-25-2011, 09:29 PM
If you're an artist who always wanted to write a book, come join me at Nanowrimo (http://www.nanowrimo.org). It stands for National Novel Writing Month even though it's worldwide. The goal is to write a 50,000 word rough draft novel within November.

I've been doing it since 2000 and met a couple of other WC members who participate, so I'm posting this thread for other Wrimos who want to get together and share our word counts, our triumphs and troubles.

We have one awesome advantage too - we artist-writers can illustrate our novels and do our own covers!

La_
10-26-2011, 12:31 AM
i've heard of this ... a friend of mine has done a couple of them.

here's a ? for you ... what percentage of your novels thus far are dialogue? approximately - half? a third? two thirds?

i can blather on forever and tell a pretty decent story, but integrating dialogue is my nemesis and i'm thinking it's a pretty important factor ... writing 'script' has been suggested as a tool to progress dialogue ... any other tips you'd care to share on that would be most welcomed.

la

Andrew
10-26-2011, 08:42 AM
I have considered participating in this a few times. I have done the 3-Day Novel writing contest a few times, so a whole month might not be too bad.

But then I think of how to juggle that, and getting into the studio. A place where I already get to spend far too little time.

Andrew

catjoe
10-27-2011, 08:28 PM
Oh gee whiz. Could this be a sign? I've been torn about wanting to take part in this. The weird thing is ten minutes before I signed into WetCanvas I had been on the site. I read a bit, then I clicked out and told myself no. I come here, and there is the Nanowrimo thread staring me in the face. Aye-yi-yi. Decisions, decisions, decisions. :confused:

Will you keep this thread going with your progress?

robertsloan2
10-28-2011, 12:45 AM