PDA

View Full Version : The young sick Bacchus - what's the palette?

earmenow
10-08-2011, 03:44 PM
I'm fairly new to art and oil painting, and I'm trying to figure out what palette I would be using for a Caravaggio "the young sick Bacchus." I can't figure out what palette I would use for the skin tones on the body, and the face :(. I see some green and greys in there, but I'm not sure how to work it out.
Does anyone have an opinion on this? I've attached a picture from the book I bought for convenience.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/08-Oct-2011/220617-IMG_2753.jpg

Thanks,
Josh

Sunu Tri
10-11-2011, 11:30 PM
Caravaggio works are very interesting and I'm planning to do copies of them in the future. About the palette you ask, maybe you just need to have a go and see what you'll find by try and error.

pacificNW
10-19-2011, 12:13 AM
Typical palettes back then were very earthy. Think umbers, ivory black, yellow ochre, earth reds, burnt sienna. You may be able to get that earthy green with ultramarine and yellow ochre.

Given the picture you've shown here, I would probably start the flesh with ivory black and burnt umber. If the brown wasn't warm enough, I'd probably then add hints of burnt sienna (possibly yellow ochre, but doesn't look likely) to the lighter parts of the flesh to warm them up.

norfolkpainter
01-07-2012, 03:31 PM
I was in the National last week and happened to look at this and take some notes.

I'd say it was a verdaccio (greenish monochromatic underpainting; say terre verte, lead white, some red iron oxide, black or dark earth {umber}) with the other body and glaze colours laid over it. The lights are opaque the darks translucent by comparison. There's not a huge amount of impasto on this one, certainly nothing like he did in his later work. Finally, compared to some of the late great ones - the taking of Christ for example - the tonal range is pretty small

Hope this helps

Mart

earmenow
01-08-2012, 02:03 PM