PDA

View Full Version : Question about Liquitex Hue colors

americreations
09-18-2011, 04:07 PM
Hello, I am new to acrylic painting and found a good deal for a set of Liquitex Heavy Body Professional grade acrylics and noticed that there are quite a few colors that have "Hue" in the title which are the following:

Alizarin Crimson Hue
Cadmium Red Light Hue
Cadmium Orange Hue
Cadmium Yellow Medium Hue
Hooker's Green Hue

I did do some reading on this forum about the "Hue" colors and that they use less expensive pigments to imitate the particular color. My question is I was wondering because Liquitex heavy body acrylics are professional grade, will those hue colors above do the job, or is there certain aspects that I need to be aware of regarding those particular paint colors?

I will definitely be getting the set due to the good deal, but I guess I need to know if I need to buy the non-hue colors of those listed above. Thanks for your help.

Oh, and why we're talking about colors, I was wondering what the difference is between Ivory Black and Mars Black. I have learned that Ivory Black does take awhile to dry, but not so sure about Mars black and what the pros and cons of each are? Thanks.

timelady
09-18-2011, 05:58 PM
Hues aren't necessarily less expensive pigments (though that is the general thought) but rather differnt pigments than the original - either for cost, improved performance, or due to the original no longer being accessible.

Alizarin Crimson Hue - I believe the original is fugitive. Most brands use a hue.
Hooker's Green Hue - a historic colour, not sure if it's inaccessible now as a pigment or fugitive, but most brands use a hue that is a combination of several modern pigments. (by the way, Liquitex's Hookers is my favourite, it's one of the only colours I buy from them :) )

Cadmium Red Light Hue
Cadmium Orange Hue
Cadmium Yellow Medium Hue