PDA

View Full Version : Gesso vs Titanium White for mixing

dancingleafwoman
09-14-2011, 03:42 PM
Hi,

I'm very new to all this and have been reading a lot on the internet. I've tried to search WetCanvas for this but keep getting "fatal error" messages. so sorry if this has been discussed before.

I've run across a couple of artist's websites where it is said that gesso is better for mixing than titanium white. Does anyone here do that. What are they pros and cons? :confused:

Wanted to have some idea before ordering more supplies.

Thanks, Pam

saaz hop
09-14-2011, 04:55 PM
Others may have a more technical insight but I've been using gesso for mixing because that's what I picked up watching the Gerry Yarnell series on PBS. When I started with acrylic I bought Mixing White but have noticed with the Winsor & Newton series both their Mixing White and Titanium White use Titanium dioxide as the pigment. I've since dropped Mixing White and use gesso instead for value adjustments. I do use Titanium when I want a pure white highlight.

Einion
09-14-2011, 06:19 PM
There are many prior threads on this subject Pam, the most recent one from only last month, gesso or white titanium (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=943379).

Always a good idea to try a search for something you're curious about, assuming the WC search is working at the time! Not just for when the internal search isn't cooperating it can be useful to use Google to look within the site. Either type site:wetcanvas.com along with your search terms into the Google search plugin in your browser or the main Google page, or go to the Advanced Search page where you use the Search within a site or domain option.

Einion

sugarbritches085
09-14-2011, 06:51 PM
Ohhh thank you for the tip Einion! The search option only works for me about 20% of the time. I end up just trying and failing or else having to use a different site to try to get valid information!

dancingleafwoman
09-14-2011, 07:45 PM