PDA

View Full Version : Newbie looking for Brush Opinions

cdc1968
06-21-2011, 07:37 PM
Hello Artworld!

I've decided to try my hand at painting and I am looking for opinions, thoughts, likes, dislikes....etc...etc regarding paint brushes. I know this is a matter of opinion and I'll probably learn the hard way - like most painters have - but I would like to hear from a few painters.

As a complete newbie, I have overwhelmed myself with all the Online ART Sites and with everything they have to offer. It is very daunting. Especially when one is trying to make sense of all the brushes, their manufacturers, and the different types of brush materials.

One of the major drawbacks is that there really isn't a REAL ART STORE in my area. I only have the Big Chain Craft store to shop from. Their selection is limited as you well know and this makes it hard.

Right now, I have tried:
- Grumbacher Bristlette (Local store purchase)
- Robert Simmons Titanium and Saphire (Local store purchase)
- Princeton 6300 (Online Purchase)

Of the above brands, I liked the Princeton the best which was of cousre an online purchase. Figures???? So now I am wondering about other brands I see in catalogs and online. How does one sort through this mess? Maybe I should go to a Big City and track down the all the art stores and see what's available.

So......what brushes are you using? What material type? and of course why?

I will appreciate all comments, thoughts and opinions. Thank-you

P.s. Oh - if you're wondering about my opinion of my local brush purchases, I preferred the Grumbacher Bristlettes over the Robert Simmons Titaniums.

idylbrush
06-21-2011, 08:40 PM
It really is trial and error.

What works for me may not be agreeable at all for you.

In time you will find what your preference is and how/where will be best to purchase it. Believe me it can be daunting but be patient and it will come around.

Consider a little time reading in the information kiosk (see my signature line)

BlueStarr