PDA

View Full Version : switching to acrylic?

draggingsticks
06-02-2011, 09:35 PM
hi there, i have painted in oils for 12 years. i am thinking of switching to acrylics for easier clean up, less toxic, etc. I am really scared to switch, basically worried that i will suck at them. i was checking some of the brands out and seen the golden open ones and was curious about them since they had a longer drying time. any help would be awesome, where to begin etc. thanks.
here is my website to see what i do in oils. thanks
keith
www.keithwjohnson.com (http://www.keithwjohnson.com)

Artybo
06-03-2011, 08:50 AM
I was an oil painter and switched to Golden Opens and love them. It took only a tiny bit of practice to get the idea of working with them. I would suggest giving them a try with just a couple of colors, that way if you don't like them your investment is not astronomical.

ShannonTeague
06-03-2011, 09:46 AM
That's what I'm doing. I'm coming over from oils as well. I have a few tubes coming in the mail along with the mediums. I'm really looking forward to trying them out.

draggingsticks
06-03-2011, 10:01 AM
I would love to see your work in oil and then in the acrylic to see the difference if your up to it.

ShannonTeague
06-03-2011, 10:35 AM
I just ordered my paints today so it's probably going to be the middle of next week or later before I get them but once I get my first Open painting done I'll post them. I've worked primarily on portraits up to this point so that'll probably be the first thing I tackle.

draggingsticks
06-03-2011, 10:41 AM
awesome, i cant wait to see.

Einion
06-03-2011, 10:54 AM
i am thinking of switching to oils for easier clean up, less toxic, etc.