PDA

View Full Version : Fishin' At Little Falls

richc
03-29-2011, 10:09 PM
This is an 8x10 ampersand board, done from my reference photo taken at Bear Discovery at West Yellowstone. Scratching done with a #11 scalpel, #11 exacto and small fiberglass brush. Excuse the glare on the lower right hand corner, had to take the picture inside. I think I am close to calling it finished, what say you. Remember I am just a beginner, but critique is always welcome. Thank you in advance for taking a look.

Harry Seymour
03-29-2011, 10:56 PM
Rich--you have gone from beginner to pro in one piece. It is really quite good. You've met the challenge of fur, rock texture, water and flow in a single work. Well Done!

pamelalbd
03-29-2011, 11:49 PM
You have done such a good job Rich. Especially on the rock and water. These are two very difficult things to do. There are a couple areas on the wolves muzzle that look off to me but the pic is quite small so I may be seeing something that is just due to size. Could you post some close ups for us to see?

richc
03-30-2011, 12:14 AM
Harry thank you very much for the confidence builder. This is my first attempt at the water and the rocks.

Pamela Thank you for the nice comments. Here is a close up of the muzzle on the wolf. It was taken with my camera as I don't currently have a scanner. Hope it helps you to see what you were looking at and if there is a problem, please let me know.

PatrickHedges
03-30-2011, 01:22 AM
Beginner?? Geewhizz! You should have seen my first attempts Rich. You are really getting the hang of it and some!!

One comment from me; other than the lighter parts of the fur, the values from front to back of the wolf are all similar. I'm wondering if there wouldn't be more difference from front to back, top to bottom. This also means that the head doesn't pop forward of the body as much. A change in value would fix this - ie more shading somewhere - I'd have to see the reference to guage :)

artofnature
03-30-2011, 01:27 AM