PDA

View Full Version : What is the secret?

gnarledwolf
03-24-2011, 09:50 AM
Hello,
Somewhere along the line, I missed something in my personal training in the art of drawing. I was trained on comic books, and I find I tend to generalize how things looks, instead of getting at the detail. Scratchboard artists, it seems, tend to thrive on the details. I did my monkey the other day and posted it. The monkey took roughly 6 hours. Rodman told me the best thing I could do is slow down... I think it was rodman... and I'm sitting here wondering How in the world do I do that? Can someone tell me the secret of getting at the details? Are there posted steps somewhere for doing this? For the most part, I'm a fantasy artist... but my work could be vastly improved by a good dose or reality mixed in.
Matt

kenmacf
03-24-2011, 10:10 AM
I would suggest a life drawing class. A university, art guild or even art museums sometimes offer them to the public or members. learning to draw the human form was the best detail instruction I got. But there are a lot of ways to de-fleece the feline.

aaces
03-24-2011, 10:37 AM
I hate to say it....but.... Rod is right. :D Not because I don't want Rod to be right :D But because it DOES take a new scratcher (or an older one) a lot of time to get the details on a piece. For instance the piece I'm workin on now, the fox, is only a 5x7 but I have spent well over 8 hours on it. I'm still not half done! I've been doin this since late 07, and I am getting quicker.
I've found the longer I have worked in this medium the quicker I have become.....but the results I get on a piece that I have done in scratch, is more gratifying than if I had done it in half the time by using graphite or other mediums. Mostly due to the details that can be achieved.
I have learned to be patient.....sorta :rolleyes: but trust me.....It's worth the wait when ya sit back and look at a piece upon completion.