PDA

View Full Version : Rock Garden

Davkin
03-14-2011, 08:44 PM
Finally got something else done, I just don't spend as much time at this as I should. Decided to try a rock study based on a photo I took on a hike here a couple years ago.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/14-Mar-2011/201970-rockgarden.jpg

This is 8x10 mostly Rembrandts on Canson. I really want some feedback on how I can do better, especially in terms of pastel use, I'm new at this and obviously can use all the help I can get!

David

DAK723
03-14-2011, 09:50 PM
This is looking good! You're keeping things simple, painting shapes, and not getting too detailed - so all is good!

Don

pastel lover
03-14-2011, 09:52 PM
Hi David,

This is very, very nice. Very good handling of the aerial perspective, even though your center of interest is in the foreground your eye still sees a distinct progression to middle ground then finally to background. Also love your handling of the middle grasses, very soft. I do have few observations that might help you. First, I am confused on where the light source is coming from - is it directly overhead, slight from the left or overcast so no direct source? Second, the value of the rock & the value of the yellow grass is very, very close. If you squint your eyes the rock seem to disappear. Lastly, the green grass might need a few more darks, especially where they met the rock & the ground. If it were mine I would... decide where I wanted the light source to come from & put some stronger lights on the rock (horizontal planes) & some darker shadow values on the sides of the rock (vertical planes). That should also take care of the rock blending in with the yellow grass. I would also add some lighter & darker values to the green grass according to my light source but especially where the grass is against the rock & by the base of the grass clumps. That is just my opinion. You have a wonderful as is.

Tanja

Davkin
03-15-2011, 12:40 AM
Thanks Don.