PDA

View Full Version : watercolor PENCILS

kendell
03-11-2011, 03:08 AM
hi all,

a newbie here- in january i started tinkering with 2 pencil sets. one traditional colored pencil and the other a gorgeous set of caran watercolor pencils. is there any artist out there who works with watercolor pencils where i can view wip's? i keep bouncing back to the traditional cp's because of basic issues with the wcp's. i am trying different hp watercolor papers-arches, stonehenge, with fabriano on order.....i think part of the problem is brushes. so often i see the lingering stroke marks from the wcp's--i think my brushes might not be the right material. i believe they are the cheap taklons since i use solvents some with cp. anyway, i am just not getting the fluid look i like. any tips and help is appreciated. nothing like trying to learn 2 medias at once, huh?:D

kendell

nola276
03-11-2011, 03:53 AM
Hi Kendell,

I have been threatening to tinker with watercolour pencils for a few months now. I have a nice tin of 24 Faber-Castel watercolour pencils but didn't know how to use them. I googled and came up with a few small Youtube video clips that help, but today I have just received a DVD on techniques for the pencils, which I purchased on Ebay for approx $10.00 including postage. It came from England and is worth every cent, very informative. This DVD is often on Ebay from the seller, who in fact is also the maker of the video. They put out quite a few dvd's and I have found them to be extremely good. They use the side of the pencil and colour in the areas first, then use a rigger brush and a small amount of water to activate the colours. If you are interested, I can leave you the link to their site. Cheers, Nola.:wave:

painterbear
03-11-2011, 06:05 AM
Check out these threads from The Watercolor Handbook on Watercolor Pencils:

Watercolor Pencils

Watercolor Pencil Brands Comparisons

Derwent Graphitint Watercolor Pencils by artbyboon

and these threads in The Learning Demos: