PDA

View Full Version : I want to break my new pastels!

JamieWG
02-23-2003, 11:58 AM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/23-Feb-2003/13766-help.gif

Can somebody please help me? I know this may seem like a stupid question. I'm new to pastels and there's so much I don't know. have a new set of Unison pastels....but the sticks are so large I can't use the sides. I really want to break off pieces! Is this a terrible thing to do? I just can't figure out how to use whole sticks to their best advantage. Do most of you break them?

Many thanks,
Jamie

Shari
02-23-2003, 12:19 PM
Jamie,

Here's what I find works for me: when I get a new set of pastels, I break off a smallish piece, about 1/2" usually, and put it in my box that I work from. I keep a separate box that is my working box and I keep the original pastels in their original boxes. When I get very low on the piece I broke off, then I replace it with another piece from the original box. When that gets low, if I love that color, I reorder that stick. Seems to work for me.

Shari

JamieWG
02-23-2003, 01:28 PM
Thank you, Shari. Sounds like a great idea. I guess that way you can also avoid having to cart your big sticks around with you, right? Or do you take those too?

I guess I should search the Hall of Fame....

Jamie

sundiver
02-23-2003, 03:28 PM
Pastels are meant to be broken. Some people automatically break them all as soon as they get them.

JamieWG
02-23-2003, 04:03 PM
Originally posted by sundiver
Pastels are meant to be broken. Some people automatically break them all as soon as they get them.

Whew! Well that makes me feel a whole lot better, Wendy! Now I just have to find a better organizational method for travel. Didn't quite see the right thing in the Hall of Fame. Somebody mentioned sorting by value. Was it Carly? Or Jackie? Hmmmm...

What do you do, Wendy?

Jamie

Shari
02-23-2003, 05:38 PM
Jamie,