PDA

View Full Version : The ultimate challenge

BevL
02-19-2003, 12:32 PM
I started this the night before last, and my goal was to make the buds look alive. This is done almost completely using only pastel dust, applied with a round brush. The only places I used the actual pastel stick was on the highlit edges of the closed buds, a little on the petal edges, and that was it.

I had to work out a few challenges..The green dust went on smoothly however the pink did not- it kept lifting so I used my finger to push it into the tooth to give it opacity.

I also discovered a way to glaze. Using a makeup blush brush, I was able to glaze very dark green pastel dust over the top of the background, to push it back. This worked wonderfully! It didnt lift the layers below at all.

This is my first attempt at really high realism, and I am pleased with this result. I still have to adjust the background here and there. Let me know if you think its a little too busy.. I can glaze it back more. 15x22 black Stonehenge.

Bev
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/19-Feb-2003/1746-flowerbuds_025a.jpg

soap
02-19-2003, 01:16 PM
Oh My God! This is brilliant!
With pastel dust??? How do you do that? How do you pick it up and apply it to the board/paper?

Anyway, don't change the background, I wouldn't want it quieter.

Absolutely love it!

S.

BevL
02-19-2003, 01:40 PM
Thankyou Soap.

I get dust from sanding the pastel on a rasp, onto a piece of paper or paper towel. Then I just pick it up with my brush, and scumble it onto the paper. Using the side of the bristles rather than the tip allows the pastel to be pushed a little into the tooth.. using the bristles upright tends to remove it somewhat. I can push the dust into the edges, using a side to side motion, leaving a clean edge. Then I just hold up the paper and tap the back to get rid of excess dust.

Bev :)

Dark_Shades
02-19-2003, 02:09 PM
Absolutely gorgeous and stunning Bev :clap: :clap: .... the bud is exquisite

Love it :clap: