PDA

View Full Version : Fixative

zilloot
02-07-2003, 02:19 AM
Hello folks
What's the opinion on use of pastel fix? (I'm new to WC)
If I don't use it my framer gets concerned about dust-drop. If I use it lightly I'm still concerned for pictures that have to travel unframed.
I've attached a small Highland Cow ("heeland cooo"!!!) which I ruined with spray (although the client still took it...). The staining shows on the paper at the edge.
Thanks for your thoughts.....

Highland Calf, 'Kirsty', pastel on Canson
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/07-Feb-2003/18080-coooo.jpg

jackiesimmonds
02-07-2003, 02:29 AM
Once I had a can of fix that did this, it was a Winsor & Newton can, and I was FURIOUS to find that it stained the paper. I returned it to the manufacturer, with a letter of complaint, and they replaced it. The next can did not stain the paper at all.

It is OK to use fix, but there are a few precautions to take.

1. If you plan to leave large areas of paper uncovered - which is slightly dodgy practice, frankly, because paper colours are fugitive and will often fade - then BEFORE starting to work, test your fix on the paper to see if it will leave marks. If it does, then you have to use pastel all over. If you want a plain backgrund, then use a pastel colour which is the same as the paper colour!!

2. If you are worried that the fix will darken your lightest tones -well, IT WILL if you use lots. So you have to use a very light spray at the end of painting, and then cover your work with a piece of GLASSINE paper. If you press down really hard on the Glassine, it will press the pastel down too, and this might help to eliminate pastel drop. Notice I say"HELP". Fix the glassine in place to transport the pastel to the framer, it is wonderful stuff.