PDA

View Full Version : Advice please

Summer Rose
02-06-2003, 05:29 PM
I'd like to try pastels, but I am unsure if I should try oil pastels or soft pastels. I don't no anything about either one. I've check "the hall of fame", but did not find any answers.

My questions....
1. Can soft and oil pastels be used together?
2. Which is easier for a beginner?
3. Is there a good beginner book that can teach one how to use this medium?
4. Are Pastels very hard for one to master?

I guess I just need some plain good advice!

Thanks to all who reply.

Nori
02-06-2003, 06:18 PM
Hi Summer Rose, I am a beginner (since last August) with no real art background. I can really relate to your questions and have learned a lot from this board and my own dumb mistakes.

Here is my suggestion. Start off with a decent starter set (box of 1/2 sticks) of soft pastels. Oils are much trickier and should be tried but not until you get the hang of soft pastels.

Can oil and soft be used together? I suppose it is possible (I think someone on this forum has done some combos) but wait until you feel fairly comfortable with the soft. I lost interest for now in using oil.

Buy paper designed to be used with pastel paints or charcoal. Don't use regular sketching paper as it isn't rough enough (not enough tooth) to hold onto the pastel pigment.

Tape or clamp your paper to an easel so when you "paint" the dust falls off your surface and onto the floor.

Read this forum religiously as well as Landscape, portrait and any other style you like. There are pastel artists on many other forums.

If you have a scanner or a digi camer (which I don't), post your works-in-progress (WIP) for feedback. Everyone here is as generous as they are talented.

Pastels are about the most fun I've ever had. I hope your experience is just as good. Nori

Nitsa
02-06-2003, 06:56 PM
Thanx Nori.....Learned a little myself here!

CarlyHardy
02-06-2003, 07:11 PM
Nitsa,