PDA

View Full Version : Oil Pastels Primer Please

HSargent
02-04-2003, 09:28 AM
I am oil painter and pencil sketcher who bought a beginner set of oil pastels. I did not want the mess of soft pastels.

But I can't find information on how to use.

Does it take special paper?

Do you use a stump like pen drawings or a brush with turpentine to distribute?

I tried to apply to a 90# sketch paper pencil drawing and it did not look good.

Help!

:confused:

DragonladyfromOz
02-04-2003, 10:05 AM
Hi HSargent
I'm not experienced by any stretch of the imagination but I used acrylic paper for some I did, has a texture to the surface and is quite cheap. I have also used illustration board and with oil pastels.
I found that you can apply the oil pastels and then 'move' them around with a brush dipped in solvent or turps. It was quite fun!
One thing I did find was that I needed to protect the pic after wards with a few coats of crystal clear as the surface 'bloomed' on me - mostly black pic.
I ended up putting it under the griller in the oven - don't laugh :D! - to re-soften the waxy part and then did a touch up and crystal clear'd it. It worked well.
Hope somone with more experience can help here as I wouldn't want to steer you wrong.
Cheers
D'lady

Mikki Petersen
02-04-2003, 01:08 PM
My one experience so far with oil pastels was a dismal failure. One lesson I learned from it was forget about using cheap ones.

DragonLady - ROFLMAO!!!!! I'm still giggling...actually, I love the creative spirit that led you to so much experimentation to save a painting. My luck would have been to burn my house down when I put the piece under the broiler. Cheers and much luck in your endeavors!

trill4ian2
02-04-2003, 01:16 PM