PDA

View Full Version : Will acrylic paint stick to glaze?

Sparky
01-25-2003, 07:36 PM
I created a clay fish, had it glazed and HATE the color and the shine! I know I used the wrong glaze, I'm new at glazing, etc, etc. but now all I want is to "save" my fish. I want to paint it with acrylics (my normal medium) to get the look I want and am afraid it won't stick.

I tried sanding in a spot to get some tooth for the paint to stick, but between the hard glaze and my textured scaly fish surface this isn't workable.

Any help would be appreciated. I thought you porcelain people might be the right place to start.

Decor Delights
02-02-2003, 11:56 AM
Dear Sparky,
I was very interested in your post, I hope these ideas may help you.

I love to paint on all surfaces and have had some experience with slick, shiny surfaces. Here are some ideas.

First, your surface needs to be clean and free from dirty and oils. Wash surface with soap and water and then rinse with white vinegar. Let dry.

Matte sealer or primer:
Find a spray primer that will stick to a glossy surface. Sometimes I have had good success with Krylon 1311 Matte. This will stick to shiny surface and give the piece enough tooth for the paint to stick. Also, if you don't like a shiny painted surface, give it a spray of 1311 and it won't be shiny anymore.

JW Etc's Undercover:
Another product I have had great success with it JW Etc's Undercover. This primer sticks to everything, even plastic. It is a white semi-opaque primer. I found that several coats gives a really great paintable surface. It accepts acrylic paints wonderfully.

Glass Paints: