PDA

View Full Version : First monoprint

sunny
01-15-2003, 10:34 AM
I used oils for this monoprint...since I am new to this, it was very exciting...I painted the image on glass, then made the print. I couldn't remove the painting from the glass...it looks too pretty.

As for the print...I used a light cotton paper...maybe not such a good idea...the print came out rather light....but I am going enhance it with pastel...I also have a ghost image which is really neat looking.

just thought I would post ....especially if you can help me get a better print for the next one..Comments...and any help definitly appreciated.

bikevstar
01-15-2003, 10:43 AM
Please, please do not touch this monotype. It's perfect. That's the beauty of monotype, not perfect definition. If you check out Julia Ayres book, this print would be in there as an example. This is beautiful! I know you have the urge to make everything more defined but I'm tellin' ya, don't do it. It's great. Take the ghost print and work with it and see which one you like better. Will it be the one you just promised me you wouldn't touch or the ghost print with the pastel too?

Beautiful work!
Kelly

sunny
01-15-2003, 12:11 PM
Kelly,
Hummmm, you have me thinking now...dangerous:D

I'm posting the piece painted on glass:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/15-Jan-2003/3827-Danee_glass.jpg

And the ghost image:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/15-Jan-2003/3827-Danee_ghost.jpg

Don't laugh, but I have never seen an original monoprint...:eek: :mad:
So I can only go by the images I see printed in books...I love the texture of the print...it would be a shame to cover it..but I don't think I'm brave enough for it to stand alone...

I will work on the ghost...I promise..and see if I like how that turns out..

thanks for your lovely comments..:)

bikevstar
01-15-2003, 12:26 PM