PDA

View Full Version : Sir Peter Scott with a gull on his head. lol

online art
01-13-2003, 05:46 PM
Thought that title might grab your attention, lol

Well I wasn't kidding, recently I went to my local (ish) Wetland center and as some of you may know, Sir Peter Scott was the guy who started it all, with the water-fowl conservation etc over here.

Well to cut the story short, there is a sculpture of him holding a pair of binoculars, it's a bit above life size, anyway when I went there a black headed gull conveniently perched on his head and I don't know why, but it just grabbed my attention and I shot off about 10 photos - I knew I had to have a go at painting it.

The sculpture is bronze or something like that I guess as it's now a fantastic bluey green colour which really set off the colours in the gull.

I've never done a portrait before and was really fancying trying one, guess this combines that with a wildlife theme, don't even know if I should post it in the portraite forum instead, oh well, if you guys don't mind then I'll carry on posting the wip here.

OK, I've started to map out the plan/sketch - it's going to be about 18in high, so it's not very big. Pencil on paper so far, but as usual I will be painting in oils.

online art
01-13-2003, 05:48 PM
Here's a closer view. BTW there is nothing behind the shoulder area, it's just being supported on the arms, so that will make it look even stranger, if it's not strange enough already. lol

Allan Jameson
01-13-2003, 06:06 PM
Great drawing.....will make an interesting painting.

Dark_Shades
01-13-2003, 06:44 PM
lol ..... looking good Jason..... this will be an interesting one

Caron
01-13-2003, 10:15 PM
lol, well you got me Jason! As soon as I saw Sir Peter Scott linked to your name, I thought portrait and knew something was up..;) I am very much looking forward to this one! It is going to be interesting to you to accomplish the bronze or copper effect. I cant wait to see the progress images!

iridemft78