PDA

View Full Version : Am I out of subjects?

ohjay
01-11-2003, 06:18 AM
...or just blind as a bat?
I'm currently going to this art/design course, and we have a weekly assignment of drawing three objects w/graphite in our scetchbooks, as realistic as possible.
Well, I'm beginning to run out of things (that are fun to draw) in my home - I'm a poor student and haven't that many possessions yet...
I sort of want things that look interesting and make for a nice drawing, but still not overly complicated. And I can't seem to find anything anywhere! I'm guessing I simply can't see the forest for the trees, so I'd like to know if any of you "seasoned artists" has some advice on how to "make a subject out of anything", so to speak?
Also, it might just be that it's saturday morning and I've only had one coffee...:rolleyes:
Ev'ryone have a nice weekend now, then!

-oj

madster
01-11-2003, 11:17 AM
Try looking at the same three objects from different angles.

Turn the coffee cup on its side, or upside down even.
Balance the apple on top of the beer bottle.
Put the TV Remote in the coffee cup.
Lay the figurine on its side...

The purpose of limiting you in that manner is to expand your eye and mind as well as sharpen your skills...

Good Luck, and post some of your results!

Madster

erik_satie_rolls
01-11-2003, 11:23 AM
you might also try involving more of the senses.

eat a bite of the apple and taste it as you draw it. try to draw the taste.

turn the volume way up on the tv while you are making the drawing of the remote control.

other approaches: natural objects are inherently more interesting than machined ones, but too much of either gets old. seashells, leaves, twigs, can give way to headphones, shirts over a chair, etc.

try doing multiple sketches of a single object and picking the best one. you havent told us what you like to draw.

what do you like to draw?

erik_satie_rollerblading

JustjoGA
01-11-2003, 11:38 AM