PDA

View Full Version : 1mpete : Resources in Sacramento?

Nori
01-09-2003, 11:07 AM
Mikki (1mpete), I am a beginner pastelist living in Sacramento. I really love your work and imagine my joy at seeing your name and Elk Grove! I have been having a lot of fun with pastels since summertime and happily keep making improvements in my technique (well, actually there was no place to go but up). I owe most of my growth to this website. I haven't found too much in the way of classes or workshops yet. There are so many new galleries opening up in the Midtown area but their pastel artists tend to be really edge-y (cool but out of my league). Do you have any suggestions? I work full-time and am a single mom which limits my free time. I don't own a digi (yet) or a scanner (maybe I ought to invest), otherwise I would post some of my work for comment.

I loved the "out of my comfort zone thread". Your portrait was fabulous. I cannot begin to imagine tackling a portrait of someone I know (love).

Thanks for any advice you can give me. Nori

bnoonan
01-09-2003, 11:31 AM
Hi Nori,
I'm in San Francisco and know that you are in a great collection of pastelists having attended a recent show of work there. In fact I think there is another show coming up - I'll send you the information when I find it on my desk.

Welcome to pastels and yeah - it's great stuff.

Not exactly sure of any specific teachers in Sacramento but if you can tell me of your level, I may be able to ask around with others in my classes. I know you said you just started painting pastels, but have you been painting a lot prior? What other medium have you used?

Once again, welcome - this is a great place to get started

Barb

Nori
01-09-2003, 11:51 AM